Lifter Of Our Heads

387497_414587731934899_1637351114_n

Photo Credit: TThornquist Photography

Life is tough, and I’m sure that I don’t need to tell you that. Between deaths, money issues, sickness, fights, disruption in the church, and many (many) other things it’s hard to focus on all the beauty that is hiding behind that curtain of hurt. During tough trials I keep an index card with a comforting bible verse written on it in my pocket to refer to throughout the day, I sing hymns, I say thanks for everything I see, I cry, I try to listen to up-beat music, and most of all I lean on God. You want to why? because God is the lifter of my head.

“But you, O LORD, are a shield about me, my glory, and the lifter of my head. I cried aloud to the LORD, and he answered me from his holy hill.” – Psalms 3:3-4

I do not and cannot possibly depend on myself and others in this world for my happiness and comfort because they will always disappoint me. But God is there. He is alive, and listening, and perfect He can never fail me. Isn’t that wonderful?!

I can sleep because I know that He will sustain me (Psalm 3vs5), I can sing praises because He fills my life with joy, I can walk in the darkness because He is my light. He brings true and everlasting joy into my heart when the earth is failing. To know that my treasures are not in this realm is a glorious, glorious thing.

“Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.”- Matthew 5:4

The spiritual, emotional, or financial loss resulting from sin should lead to mourning and a longing for God’s forgiveness and healing. I pray that God would bring comfort into your heart and into the lives of your family.

“Salvation belongs to the LORD; your blessings be on your people!”- Psalms 3:8

~Rebekah Elaine

Leave a Reply

