My Bible Study Method

Well hello there! My, it has been awhile since I’ve written hasn’t it? Between school, family, and a stubborn case of writer’s block I am back. I can’t promise any sort of posting schedule or regularity, but it’s about time I start again. Today I am going to share with you the bible study method that I have been using for my personal devotion. I have this method written out on an index card that I keep in my Bible for easy access in the morning and evenings or any extra that I have to study.

Start with picking a chapter of the Bible to focus on over the next seven days. Right now I am going through the book of Psalms, studying one chapter a week. I encourage you to begin and end your devotion with prayer. Ask God to bless your time in the word and to open your heart and mind to absorb His truths. I also suggest turning and adding verses into prayers.

Day 1: Read chapter at least one time through and write down any verses that stand out. Pick a verse to memorize over the next six days.

Day 2: Read Chapter. Record any truths and promises. Meditate on these.

Day 3: Read Chapter. Record commands, instructions, and applications. Meditate on these.

Day 4: Read Chapter. Review notes and meditate on what you discovered.

Day 5: Read Chapter. Listen/Read to a sermon relevant to this chapter.

Day 6: Read Chapter. Meditate on what you have learned. optional: Listen/Read to a sermon relevant to this chapter

Day 7: Read Chapter. Meditate on what you have learned.

Using this method has really worked for me. Reading the same chapter every day gives me the opportunity to be able to learn and see more. Please feel free to adopt this method for yourself and tweak it to make it work for you!

With love and blessings,

~Rebekah Elaine

Leave a Reply

