DIY Shorts and Capris

Spring is in the air and Summer will be here before we know it! Where I live,  Spring means having days of 80 degree weather to cold and rainy. Summer means days HOTness, like 110 degree hotness. When our first 80 degree day of the year came, I realized that I had nothing but jeans and a few skirts, nor did I have the funds to just rush out and buy new clothes. So, I got resourceful! I had a pair of grey and black skinny jeans that I no longer wore, which would were in perfect condition.

What I love about this, is that I can customize the length of the shorts, guaranteeing modesty. This method works with all kinds of pants, not just jeans.
PicMonkey Collage Jeans to Capris

 

Step One: Put On Thy Pants. As long as it fits your waist and not too loose or tight, you’re good. Take a pen (Ballpoint, sharpie, dry erase, whatever you have that will leave a mark). While still wearing the pants, Place a small mark to know where to cut. Make sure to take into account that you will roll the hem at least two times.

Step Two and Three: Take Off Thy Pants and Fold In Half:

Lay Flat

Fold

 

 

Step Four: Cut at the Line you previously drew.006

Step Five: ROLL!!! I suggest rolling at least two times to hide the cut edge. Tada!! You are done!

Roll

To make shorts, Follow the same procedure, but cut the pant legs shorter.
PicMonkey Collage Jeans to Shorts

 

I hope this has encouraged you to get out your scissors and creative spirit! If you do thing project, share your awesome version below so all of us can see! See you next time!

With Blessing,

~Rebekah

Posted in: DIY

Leave a Reply

