“I Have Nothing To Give”

“How can I serve God when I have nothing to give Him?”

Have you asked that question before? Have you heard somebody else ask that question, or have seen it written on their face and screaming from their posture? I have asked myself this question a lot.

Back in December of 2012 my dad was preaching a sermon in church titled “Great Expectations” which I completely forgot about until tonight, when I was going through my church notebook.

I wrote this line down that was undoubtedly spoken by him.

“It doesn’t take a lot to serve God, it takes what you have.”

Saying you have nothing to give is an insult to God.

James 1v17 “Every good gift and every perfect gift in from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.”

God has given you many things to use for His glory. If he has given you a gift with words, then write to magnify His name. If you can sing, praise His name in song. If you can knit or crochet, make hats and blankets to give out with bible tracts.

Rena, one of my mothers friends from many years ago, had cancer but was on fire for the Lord. She did everything she could and when the cancer had taken most of her abilities away, she would sharpen pencils for the bible study at church. I remember watching this as a little girl, back then I didn’t understand the power of a simple task like sharpening pencils. It was all she could do, but the point is that she was doing it for the Lord. Rena passed away a few months later.

1 Corinthians 10v31 “So, whatever you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.”

Not everyone was meant to speak in front of hundreds of people, or build hospitals in South Africa, or even read stories in children’s church. But you are capable of serving and glorifying God.

At the end of my notes, I had written

“It doesn’t matter if you can’t afford a lamb. He is the lamb of God.”

~Rebekah

One thought on ““I Have Nothing To Give”

  1. Janet says:

    Thank you for your great post . It is inspiring and a gentle reminder that we can all serve as we all have something to give, just like my BFF Rena. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

