12 Ways to Pray for Your Future Husband

I have been thinking about my future husband since I was a little girl. What little girl doesn’t? For the longest time I was convinced that I was going to marry my Daddy. Then when I realized that we didn’t live in the south (KIDDING) and my step-mom wasn’t going to give him up, I started dreaming about what he would look like, when I would meet him, and so forth. I had it all planned out. I spent many a Sunday church service planning out how many kids we’d have, what their hobbies would, and even to the point of what their favorite colors would be.

But when I was about twelve years old I learned that one cannot simply plan their future, but that did not stop me from dreaming about my future husband.

My friend Kayla and I got together about two years back and decided that we should start praying for our future husbands. Not necessarily praying for him to have a full head of hair, or straight teeth, but for his walk with Christ. Every night I pray for him, whoever he may be.

Here are 12 things to pray for future husband:

  1. He would meditate day and night in God’s Word, pray without ceasing, and stay faithful to Christ. (1 Thessalonians 5:17)
  2. He would be quick to hear, slow to speak, and slow to anger. (James 1:19)
  3. He would develop strong relationships with other godly men. (Hebrews 10:24, Proverbs 27:17)
  4. That He will be strong in the Lord, fighting against the lust of the flesh, guarding his purity. (1 Corinthians 10:13)
  5. That Self Control would dominate his life. (Proverbs 25:28)
  6. For Spiritual and practical maturity well beyond his years. (James 1:5)
  7. He would have a heart of forgiveness and that forgiveness would be granted to him. (Ephesians 4:32)
  8. He would have the desire to serve others. (Mark 9:35)
  9. He would begin, even now, making wise financial decisions that will benefit his future family for years to come. (1 Timothy 5:8)
  10. That humility would mark his life. (James 4:6)
  11. He would work with diligence and quality at any task the Lord sets before him. (Ecclesiastes 9:10)
  12. He would fight for truth and most of all Christ. (Ephesians 6:10-11)
Leave a Reply

