Hiding My Purity

Photo Cred: Tthornquist Photography

Setting The Scene

This is a college class. There are only two people in the class under eighteen , including myself and a girl named, Clara who is fourteen.Yesterday, I was sitting my Theatre 210 class in a group of girls listening to their conversation.

These girls were talking about getting wasted, doing blow jobs, cussing every other sentence, and one of the girls was mid sentence when she stopped and said,

“Oh, there are young ears in here!” Two of the girls exchanged a look, and busted into a fit of laughter. My ego was immediately hurt, and it was obvious that they were talking about Clara and I. I do not like being treated like a kid. It makes me frustrated and feel like my worth is somehow lower because I don’t get to  be involved in “adult” conversations.

I immediately replied with, “I’m sixteen. I’ve heard a lot worse than this. Just because I’m home schooled, doesn’t mean I’m innocent. ” They took this into consideration, shrugged, and went back to their previous conversation of drinking the night away. I regretted my words the second they came out.

By defending myself, I just proved my immaturity. I subjected Clara and I to listen to more of this garbage, just because my ego was hurt. I just denied my purity and innocence. 

Ecclesiastes 2:13 “Then I saw that there is more gain in wisdom than in folly, as there is more gain in light than in darkness.”

I Was The Only Christian.

Our theatre class had a total of seven students by the final night; in it, I was the only Christian. Christians are to be an example.

2 Corinthians 4:6 “For God, who said, ‘Let light shine out of darkness,’ has shown in our hearts to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ.”

I wasn’t being the godly example that I should have been. I let my ego push my beliefs out of the picture, and subjected the entire classroom to listen to their terrible stories.

I Was Ashamed of My Purity

I told them that I wasn’t innocent, that they didn’t need to tame it down because I was in the room. I basically told them that I was okay and wanted to hear their adulterous stories. In the midst of my sin, I forgot how precious my purity was.

Proverbs 22:11 “He who loves purity of heart, and whose speech is gracious, will have the king as his friend.”

Being pure is nothing to be ashamed of. I have saved myself and my heart for God and my future husband. They given themselves away in a way that they will never be able to get back.

1 Timothy 5:2 “Older woman as mothers, [encourage] younger woman as sisters, in all purity.”

We are to encourage one another in love, in purity, and most of all in Christ.

1 Timothy 4:12-13 “Let no one despise you for your youth, but set the believers an example in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith, in purity. Until I come, devote yourself to the public reading of Scripture, to exhortation, to teaching.”

am young. I am sixteen. And that is nothing to be ashamed of! It does not lower my worth, I have as much responsibility as any other Christian to be a good example.

There are only two ways we can lead our peers. Toward Christ, or away from Christ.

I don’t know about you, but I want to lead them towards surpassing eternal love, not empty one-night stands.

3 thoughts on “Hiding My Purity

  1. Carissa says:

    Powerful post!! I pray we can all stand up for our faith when we need to, no matter what the peer pressure is. So you go to college?

    ~Carissa~
    delightinjoy.wordpress.com

    • RelaineT says:

      Thank you! And kind of. I take classes at my community college to supplement my high school work. Classes at community colleges (at least in CA) are free to high schoolers and are double the credit. For example: One semester of English at the college is worth a year of English in high school. I’m just speeding things up to get done with school 🙂
      ~Rebekah

Leave a Reply

