Struggling With Gratitude

I don’t know about you guys, but I struggle with gratitude… badly.

I always get caught up in the picture in my head of “how it’s supposed to be”

I come up with an idea in my head and get utterly disappointed when it doesn’t happen the way I think it should.

I grumble under my breath when I’m interrupted from my own activities by my parents or siblings asking for help.

I get bent out of shape when someone tells me no.

“Do all thing without grumbling or questioning, that you may be blameless in the midst of a crooked and twisted generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world” – Philippians 2:14-15

Is that convicting? What about this?

“But understand this, that in the last days there will come times of difficulty. For people will be lovers of self, lovers of money, proud, arrogant, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy” – 2 Timothy 3:1-2

Does that sound familiar? As children of Christ, we are called to do everything with a joyful heart, to be thankful of everything we’re given. You might be wondering what this has to do with gratitude. To understand, we need to look at the definition of “Gratitude.”

Gratitude –the quality or feeling of being grateful or thankful.

Grateful – warmly or deeply appreciative of kindness or benefits received.

We can’t do things joyfully without being thankful.

What reasons do we have to be grateful? I have only one reason for you and it is found in Hebrews.

“Therefore let us be grateful for receiving a kingdom that cannot be shaken, and thus let us offer to God acceptable worship, with reverence and awe, for our God is a consuming fire.” – Hebrews 12:28-29

CHRIST DIED FOR YOU ON THE CROSS. REJOICE IN ALL THINGS FOR HE HAS GIVEN IT TO YOU.

Yes, even the trials and tears we face.

So when your mom or dad asks for your help, do so willingly and joyfully. Thank God for having a parent who cares about you. When you’re doing laundry, thank Him for having clothes to wear. When one of your siblings wants you to play with them, be thankful that you will always have a friend. And when dishes are piling high in the sink, Thank God that you have food to eat.

We have so much to be thankful for.

I encourage you to put these verses where you can seem them throughout the day.

You are loved by a big and mighty God.

Leave a Reply

